Domino Records

Blood Orange – Freetown Sound

$0.00 Members

This product is currently out of stock and unavailable.


Details: Vinyl. 2 discs.  (August 19, 2016)


Freetown Sound is the third full-length album from Dev Hynes (Blood Orange). Written and produced by Hynes, Freetown Sound is a tour de force, a pastiche of Hynes’ past, present, and future that melds his influences with his own established musical voice. For well over a decade, Dev has proven himself a virtuoso of versatility, experimenting with almost every conceivable musical genre and working with a wide variety of artists as a writer and producer. On his solo work he has created a singular style of urgent, delicate pop music by carefully stitching a sound palette that gently recalls elastic funk, slinky R&B, and pure pop. Thematically, the album is profoundly personal and unapologetically political, touching on issues of race, religion, sex, and sexism over 17 shimmering songs.

Disc 1:

  1. By Ourselves
  2. Augustine
  3. Chance
  4. Best To You
  5. With Him


Disc 2:

  1. V.P.
  2. Love Ya
  3. But You
  4. Desireee


Disc 3:

  1. Hands Up
  2. Hadron Collider
  3. Squash Squash
  4. Juicy 1-4


Disc 4:

  1. Better Than Me
  2. Thank You
  3. I Know
  4. Better Numb